Adenine & Guanine structure

Adenine & Guanine structure

Hola cell biologists! As you are aware, the monomeric units of DNA are called deoxyribonucleotides and those of RNA are ribonucleotides. Nitrogenous bases fall into two types—purines and pyrimidines. They are organic bases belonging to a series of related ring compounds in which the rings contain more carbon and nitrogen atoms. These bases are adenine, guanine, thymine, cytosine and uracil which are broadly categorised under purines and pyrimidines. Let’s focus on Adenine & Guanine structure.

Handmade diagrams:

The following figure shows the structure of purines 1) Adenine and 2) Guanine.

Adenine (A) is one of the four nucleotide bases in DNA, with the other three being cytosine (C), guanine (G) and thymine (T). Within a double-stranded DNA molecule, adenine bases on one strand pair with thymine bases on the opposite strand. Within a double-stranded DNA molecule, guanine bases on one strand pair with cytosine bases on the opposite strand.

Adenine & Guanine structure: (Handmade)


The purines, adenine and guanine, are made up of two interconnecting rings while the pyrimidines, cytosine, thymine and uracil, possess a single ring structure. Purines are in fact derivatives of pyrimidines with an imidazole ring.

For more hand-made diagrams and diagram drawing tips:

DNA structure-DNA structure (Animation) – YouTube

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *